Not Enough

Not Enough

When my friend Casandra asked about personal devotional times, I wondered what I should write. Then this phrase came to mind – Not Enough! It came to mind because it is what I have been feeling a lot lately.

And it is easy to feel. And believe. After all, we see the best of each other’s lives in social media and we don’t necessarily remember that it is not their whole life.

Even when we are not beaten down by things, it is easy to believe we are not enough. I didn’t have the girls do the dishes, again, tonight. We didn’t do a whole bundle of chores today and get the house spit-spot. (Yes, I have been watching Mary Poppins.) We didn’t go anywhere even though the Cultural Arts Festival was today and it would have been a good learning experience. We didn’t, we didn’t, we didn’t.

Those negatives can add up. Fast. So where do I go when I need a boost. Wish I could say that my very first reaction is prayer or the Bible. But honestly, I don’t do that often enough. When I do, though, what I find is peace and reminders that I am enough. God made me to be enough in exactly the right ways. I am enough. And so are you.

We are not to be in commonality with this world. We are strangers, aliens, here, and we should be recognized as such. I Peter 2:11-12 tells us “Dear friends, I urge you, as foreigners and exiles, to abstain from sinful desires, which wage war against your soul. Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day he visits us.”

Because of this directive, our lives should look different than that of others who don’t have God. Which means, even when I am not feeling like I am enough, if I am staying away from the “sinful desires which wage war against your soul” and if I am living a good life that others will glorify God, then perhaps I am enough. Perhaps that negative voice is wrong. Sometimes, though, it is hard to be an exile, an alien.

Even in the midst of living as a foreigner, an exile, though, we have the peace of God. How do we have that? Look to Philippians 4:8-9 “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.”

So, I don’t need to do everything everyone else is doing. I don’t need to be the same as everyone else. I don’t.

Because I need to reflect God and what that means is I need to reflect what is true.

I need to reflect what is noble.

I need to reflect what is right.

I need to reflect what is pure.

I need to reflect what is lovely.

I need to reflect what is admirable, excellent and praiseworthy.

And when that is where my focus is, my life is aimed, I am enough. Because I am doing what God has directed me to. I may not live up to the world or the social media postings of others. And that is okay. Because God reminds me –

I am enough. And so are you.

At Home.

Tagged:

3 thoughts on “Not Enough

  1. […] thoughts I posted yesterday on Not Enough brought this hymn to mind. It is one that goes through my mind often. There is something comforting […]

  2. Annette Tinholt Vellenga October 13, 2017 at 7:34 pm Reply

    oh dear heart, you are enough. always just enough

Leave a Reply

