This World Is Not My Home – hymn

This World Is Not My Home

The thoughts I posted yesterday on Not Enough brought this hymn to mind. It is one that goes through my mind often. There is something comforting about the thought that this world is not my home, that I am not meant to be here long, that this is not a permanent place for me.

Heaven is a comfort and while I enjoy my life that God has given me here, I am glad to know that I get to go there for eternity. That I don’t have to stay in this broken world for long.

This hymn has a beautiful way of putting it. Hear it at Great Songs Chapel from Oklahoma Christian University or listen in the video below.

Just a note: I have found an additional version of this that is attributing it to someone else and the words have been changed from these traditional verses. The ones here are the ones that express it all best.

 

I have no friend like my Lord and I am so thankful that He has made heaven my home.

At Home.

 

This World Is Not My Home

words & music: Albert E. Brumley

1 This world is not my home, I’m just passing through.
My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue.
The angels beckon me from Heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

Chorus:
O Lord you know I have no friend like you
If Heaven’s not my home, then Lord what will I do?
The angels beckon me from Heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

2 They’re all expecting me and that’s one thing I know.
My Savior pardoned me and now I onward go.
I know He’ll take me through, though I am weak and poor.
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

Chorus:

3 I have a loving Savior up in glory-land,
I don’t expect to stop until I with Him stand,
He’s waiting now for me in heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

Chorus:

4 Just up in Glory Land we’ll live eternally.
The Saints on every hand are shouting victory.
Their song of sweetest praise drifts back from Heaven’s shore
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

Chorus:

 

 

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “This World Is Not My Home – hymn

  1. Annette V October 12, 2017 at 12:18 am Reply

    This brings me back to my days before marriage, going to hymns at the local baptist church.. this was one of the songs oft requested. Thanks for the memories. 🙂

    • 3gigglygirlsathome October 12, 2017 at 8:47 am Reply

      Glad to assist. Definitely a good one to remind us of where our citizenship is.

Leave a Reply

