Guide Me O Thou Great Jehovah – hymn

Guide Me O Thou Great Jehovah

“Guide Me O Thou great Jehovah” is a hymn that I have sung since childhood. I know it well enough that when I was looking it up to read about it, I saw several versions that have added verses that I don’t know and do not repeat the phrasing at the end of each stanza. There is also an alternate musical setting for it. The one I sang as a child and sing most of the time in worship is by Hastings but there is another in our songbook by John Hughes in 1907, as well as other settings to be found. The authorship of the lyrics does seem to stay steady, though.

When you read through these stanzas or you sing this hymn, what do you think of? I feel as though we are meant to be thinking of the Hebrews as they wander in the desert. They had to rely on God for their needs to be met. We are, similarly, called to rely upon God to meet any needs we have. We are allow God to guide us through this “barren land” that we currently call home. He will meet our physical needs but He will also meet the needs of our heart.

How do we really, truly rely upon God when our human desire is to work, work, work to do the things that “need” to be done to put food on the table and a roof over heads? Well, I don’t have the answer but I have some thoughts.

1 – Read His word. This is God talking to us. If we read what He is saying to us daily, we will see more clearly how He is working in our lives.

2 – Pray. This is us talking to God. If we truly see God as our father, shouldn’t we converse with Him? Shouldn’t we talk with Him? Also, He directs us in the Bible to talk to Him, to pray, to share the concerns of our lives. So, talk to God through prayer often.

3 – Worship. This can be by yourself but it should also include regular times of worship with other believers. Allowing God to talk to you and you talking to God, as well as singing praise to Him, will bring you to a place where you will see God guiding you, just as He guided the Hebrew people out of Egypt.

So, “Guide Me O Thou Great Jehovah”. Please, guide me.

At Home.

“Guide Me, O Thou Great Jehovah”

lyrics: William Williams (1745)
music: Thomas Hastings (1830)

1. Guide me, O Thou great Jehovah,
Pilgrim through this barren land.
I am weak but Thou art mighty;
Hold me with Thy powerful hand.
Bread of heaven,
Feed me till I want no more.
Bread of heaven,
Feed me till I want no more.

2. Open now the crystal fountain
Whence the healing stream doth flow;
Let the fiery, cloudy pillar
Lead me all my journey through.
Strong Deliverer
Be Thou still my Strength and Shield.
Strong Deliverer
Be Thou still my Strength and Shield.

3. When I tread the verge of Jordan,
Bid my anxious fears subside;
Death of death and hell’s Destruction,
Land me safe on Canaan’s side.
Songs of praises
I will ever give to Thee.
Songs of praises
I will ever give to Thee.

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Guide Me O Thou Great Jehovah – hymn

  1. Annette Tinholt Vellenga November 5, 2017 at 11:56 am Reply

    Did I not comment on this post? I thought I had. This is a favourite hymn of mine. 🙂 we do need his guidance daily don’t we?

    • 3gigglygirlsathome November 5, 2017 at 9:38 pm Reply

      I don’t see a different comment. Yes, we certainly do need his help and guidance.

Leave a Reply

