God’s Law

God's Law

I am going to start a weekly series that I am titling “God’s Law.”

I don’t honestly know where it will go but I am starting in Psalm 119. I am going to be looking at the verses that address God’s law and the different words used to label God’s law.

Some of the words:

  • law
  • precepts
  • ways
  • commands
  • word

And these are just from the first few verses of this chapter. Psalm 119 is 176 verses long and I will be using the NIV Study Bible as my main source. It is the 1985 copyrighted version, which I prefer over the newer ones. I am also expecting to use the NKJV some.

God’s Law, His word, is where we should be looking for guidance in this world. I was reading through Psalm 119 a few weeks ago and found great encouragement and comfort in the verses here. Then, in Ladies’ Bible Class, something was mentioned about how many different words are used to talk about God’s laws and how each word brings a slightly different focus. I knew then that it was the theme that I had been looking for, waiting for, trying to find, and that Psalm 119 was where to begin.

One other indication that this was the place to begin? Miss J has been working on memory verses for Bible class and we have been singing “Thy word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.” (Psalm 119:105) This has been in my mind quite often for the past few weeks, including now. 🙂

I don’t know the extent of this study. I am going to follow it where it leads and learn what I can from it. I hope you will join me and read through some, if not all, of the posts as they come your way. Regardless, I am praying that this is a fruitful journey for me and for anyone who follows along.

At Home.

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “God’s Law

  1. Annette Tinholt Vellenga November 3, 2017 at 11:17 pm Reply

    sounds like a very interesting series. I’ll be back….

    • 3gigglygirlsathome November 4, 2017 at 2:53 pm Reply

      Will be good to have you and I hope it is as interesting as I feel it is.

Leave a Reply

