Andi Carter is back in new adventures ~ Susan K Marlow book review

Circle C books 3 and 4

We do enjoy our Andrea Carter books and all of her adventures on the Circle C Ranch. Author Susan K Marlow has recently released two more of the Circle C Stepping Stones books and they are just as enjoyable as her previous books. I received copies of books 3 and 4 in the Circle C Stepping Stones series from Kregel Publications to read and share.

Andrea Carter grows up in the Circle C books series. Starting out with Andrea (Andi) at age 6 and going through her teenage years, this series is a great one that grows with your girl. The books are set in the late 1800s in California.

Circle C Beginnings – This series is for ages 6-9. It features Andi as a youngster who doesn’t even have a horse of her own. Yet. She struggles through being the youngest. Her curiosity fuels lots of adventures.

Circle C Stepping Stones – This series is for ages 7-10. And is a bit older and has her own horse. She and her friends find many things to do and continue to find adventure with a sense of curiosity. (review of books 1 & 2)

Circle C Adventures – This series is aimed at ages 9-13. As Andi gets older, so her adventures and scrapes become more varied and dangerous. Andi is almost a teenager now and her family is beginning to expect her to act like a young lady. But she is just not ready to be a young lady yet and her curiosity continues to get her into trouble and adventure.

Circle C Milestones – This is the final set of books in the Circle C Ranch books and it is aimed at readers ages 12 and up. These are a bit more mature stories and themes. The situations Andi finds herself in are a bit more grown-up and have some intensity to them. (Thick as Thieves book 1 review, The Last Ride book 3 review, Courage Love book 4 is mentioned in this post)

Tales from the Circle C Ranch – This collection of stories bridges some of the other stories. Each story has a statement at the beginning to help the reader place it within the larger timeline of Andi stories.


Andi Lassos Trouble

Andi Lassos Trouble (book 3)

Andi and her friend Sadie are always having fun together and encouraging one another. One afternoon, they end up having to escape from a stampede and then witness the ranch hands from several ranches. When the ranch hands from the Circle C and other surrounding ranches begin having scuffles and a tough time, Mother suggests that there be a rodeo after the roundup so the ranch hands can show off their skills. It is a well accepted suggestion and everyone gets really excited. Andi and Sadie are no exception. They begin working hard to be able to participate. Is Taffy, Andi’s horse, going to be ready? Also, Sadie’s family are sheep herders. When they show up at the rodeo, another scuffle almost breaks out.

Andi To The Rescue

Andi to the Rescue (book 4)

When Andi’s teacher is injured, Mother steps in as the school teacher for a while. Unfortunately, one afternoon, Andi and Mother are abducted by a robbers who think they are kidnapping the normal school teacher. Thankfully, Mother is an excellent teacher and is able to begin what is expected by the man who masterminded the kidnapping. But as winter begins to settle in, Andi has to make a daring escape or they might be stuck in the mountains with the kidnappers all winter. Can Andi be brave enough?

My Thoughts

One of the things that I really appreciate about all of the Andi books is that there is a decidedly Christian feel to them. The family attends church. They talk about various themes – Golden Rule or Bible verses, perhaps – in each book. The children of the family, no matter their age, know how they are to behave and conduct themselves. I really appreciate not having to be at all concerned about what might be in the books because they are clean and adventurous books that grow with my children.

Ms. Marlow has created an enduring character and a set of books that I am happy to recommend. In fact, I recommend them often, whether it is to friends, other homeschoolers, or our library system. We think everyone will benefit from these fun stories of adventure fueled by a curious little girl.

Another great thing – Ms. Marlow has created downloadable pages to go with her stories. You can find them on her website – Circle C. There are drop down menus for each part of the series and the free activity pages are on that menu, as are some free coloring pages to go with each story. These activity pages turn the books into a literature unit full of fun learning. If you want more, there are also lapbook kits for sale that go with each book.

At Home.


I received a free copy of these two books from Kregel Publications in exchange for my honest opinion. I was asked to share about them only if I enjoyed them. I was not compensated in any other way. All opinions expressed are my own or those of my family. I am disclosing this in accordance with FTC regulations.


Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Andi Carter is back in new adventures ~ Susan K Marlow book review

  1. Annette Tinholt Vellenga December 22, 2017 at 8:24 pm Reply

    these books always look like they would be such a delight to girl readers. 🙂

    • 3gigglygirlsathome December 22, 2017 at 11:55 pm Reply

      They are. Fun character that girls can relate to well. And lots of history crops up in them, too.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: