I’m Not Ashamed To Own My Lord ~ hymn

I'm Not Ashamed

Sometimes we find ourselves in a position to stand up for something or to remain quiet. Many times, it is over something small or insignificant. Yet, even in those moments, we like to share our opinion or thoughts. Kind of like I am right now. I find myself cowering, though, when it comes to the bigger, more important things. Like speaking about the love of God. Or defending the value of life. Or telling someone that their salvation is being compromised by choices they are making. Why do I shy away from that?

That is why this hymn always gets my attention. I will sing confidently that I am not ashamed to own my Lord. And I know, based on His word, that He will “own my worthless name before His Father’s face” because I have obeyed His word and been baptized for the remission of my sins. But, if I have not owned Him before those who need to know Him, have I done what He has called me to? Can I really say I am not ashamed to own Him?

Blessings,
Lori, At Home.

 

Hear this song sung by visit the site at Great Songs Chapel.

I’m Not Ashamed To Own My Lord

Words by: Isaac Watts
Music by: Carl Glaser

I’m not ashamed to own my Lord,
Nor to defend His cause;
Maintain the honors of His word,
The glory of His cross.

Jesus, my God!  I know His name,
His name is all my trust;
Nor will He put my soul to shame,
Nor let my hope be lost.

Firm as His throne His promise stands,
And He can well secure
What I’ve committed to His hands,
Till the decisive hour.

Then will He own my worthless name
Before His Father’s face,
And in the new Jerusalem
Appoint for me a place.

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “I’m Not Ashamed To Own My Lord ~ hymn

  1. Annette Vellenga (@athomepets) June 18, 2019 at 8:24 pm Reply

    this is such a lovely hymn. thanks for giving me a good tune to hum

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.