Counterfeit Love by Crystal Caudill ~ a book review

Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book Counterfeit Love from Audra Jennings PR for the purpose of this review.

Secret service, counterfeit money, mixed up emotions, a mystery in the family – could things come together to confuse Theresa Plane? As a lady who faces life full on and full force, these things may cause her pause but they will not derail her. That is, until her ex-fiance, who disappeared after her close call with death, shows up. Confusion combined with her grandfather’s death, push her further into the unknown.

I truly enjoyed reading this one but my practice in writing summaries has gone by the wayside recently so let me share with you the formal one.

About the book:

Can this undercover agent save the woman he loves—or is her heart as counterfeit as the money he’s been sent to track down?

After all that Grandfather has sacrificed to raise her, Theresa Plane owes it to him to save the family name–and that means clearing their debt with creditors before she marries Edward Greystone. But when one of the creditors’ threats leads her to stumble across a midnight meeting, she discovers that the money he owes isn’t all Grandfather was hiding. And the secrets he kept have now trapped Theresa in a life-threatening fight for her home–and the truth.

After months of undercover work, Secret Service operative Broderick Cosgrove is finally about to uncover the identity of the leader of a notorious counterfeiting ring. That moment of triumph turns to horror, however, when he finds undeniable proof that his former fiancé is connected. Can he really believe the woman he loved is a willing participant? Protecting Theresa and proving her innocence may destroy his career–but that’s better than failing her twice in one lifetime.

They must form a partnership, tentative though it is. But there’s no question they’re both still keeping secrets–and that lack of trust, along with the dangerous criminals out for their blood, threatens their hearts, their faith, and their very survival.

Combining rich history, danger, suspense, and romance, Crystal Caudill’s debut novel launches this new historical series with a bang. Fans of Elizabeth Camden, Michelle Griep, and Joanna Davidson Politano will be thrilled to find another author to follow!

To read an excerpt of Counterfeit Love click here

About the author:

Crystal Caudill is the author of “dangerously good historical romance,” with her work garnering awards from Romance Writers of America and ACFW. She is a stay-at-home mom and caregiver, and when she isn’t writing, Caudill can be found playing board games with her family, drinking hot tea, or reading other great books at her home outside Cincinnati, Ohio. Find out more at crystalcaudill.com or find her on Facebook (@crystalcaudillauthor) and Instagram (@crystalcaudillauthor). You can also join fellow readers in Crystal Caudill’s Reading Friends group on Facebook.

Giveaway:

You can read more and enter to win a copy of Counterfeit Love by Crystal Caudill on the Audra Jennings PR site.

My Thoughts:

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. The mystery and danger level was just enough to intrigue me without turning me away from it. (I don’t typically care for mystery stories.) I read through it quickly and with great interest. I found the history of the Secret Service fascinating and will be finding more to read about it. While some aspects of the mystery I suspected early on, there was just enough to keep my mind engaged. I enjoyed the historical setting and the research done to insure it was an accurate portrayal of the times. I passed the book along to my 17 year old and she loved it, too. It is well written, clean, and enjoyable, something that is harder and harder to find these days. I would definitely recommend it.

Blessings,
Lori, At Home.

2 thoughts on “Counterfeit Love by Crystal Caudill ~ a book review

  1. Annette Vellenga (@athomepets) April 1, 2022 at 4:17 pm Reply

    sounds like one I would enjoy as well

  2. March 2022 Books | At Home April 21, 2022 at 9:06 pm Reply

    […] have posted a full review of this book for you to read but will share a blurp with you here. My basic little bit: Secret service, […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: