Years I Spent In Vanity and Pride (At Calvary) ~ hymn

Years I Spent In Vanity And Pride

I am so thankful that I was brought up in the Lord’s church, that I was taught the truth from the beginning. That being true, I still had to learn for myself salvation’s plan, the grace, understand my own guilt and need for Christ. I had to take my own steps to reach out and accept the gift of salvation that Jesus gave.

I still often find myself in a fog of mediocrity (can I use that word?), where I don’t strive to made a difference, make a change, or live a certain way. I find myself drifting along on the day to day waves of whatever happens, or whatever must happen to get through each day. It is so easy to fall into those doldrums. But this hymn reminds me of just how special the life I have is and why I should be rejoicing greatly each day.

The chorus/refrain – Mercy there was great – meaning that the grace flowing off of Calvary was significant. And the grace Jesus offers is free, a gift. I was pardoned for my sins, the blood of Christ flowing forward to cover me. When I go to Calvary and lay my sins down at the feet of Jesus, I am given freedom, liberty, in Him.

That doesn’t mean freedom to do whatever I want. Rather, the freedom to live a life of love for others, mindful of the death of Christ on Calvary. I am so thankful that Jesus died on Calvary, that He did what was necessary to fulfill God’s plan and give salvation to all men. What love. What grace.

Blessings,
At Home.

You can listen to a singing of this song on In Search of the Lord’s Way. Just click on the title “At Calvary.”

Years I Spent In Vanity And Pride (At Calvary)

lyrics: William R. Newell (1895)
music: Daniel B. Towner (1895)

1 Years I spent in vanity and pride,
Caring not my Lord was crucified,
Knowing not it was for me He died on Calvary.

Refrain:
Mercy there was great, and grace was free;
Pardon there was multiplied to me;
There my burdened soul found liberty at Calvary.

2 By God’s Word at last my sin I learned;
Then I trembled at the law I’d spurned,
Till my guilty soul imploring turned to Calvary.

Refrain

3 Now I’ve given to Jesus everything,
Now I gladly own Him as my king,
Now my raptured soul can only sing of Calvary!

Refrain

4 Oh, the love that drew salvation’s plan!
Oh, the grace that brought it down to man!
Oh, the mighty gulf that God did span at Calvary!

Refrain

Tagged:

4 thoughts on “Years I Spent In Vanity and Pride (At Calvary) ~ hymn

  1. Annette V February 27, 2018 at 7:38 pm Reply

    Oh…I have the chorus running through my head now lifting my spirits. Thank,you my dear.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome February 28, 2018 at 9:15 am Reply

      You are very welcome. I do enjoy having a hymn like this running in my head.

  2. Evie August 24, 2022 at 8:52 pm Reply

    Where is the sheet music?

    • 3gigglygirlsathome August 25, 2022 at 11:59 am Reply

      I do not have permissions to share the sheet music but you can find it in just about any hymn book. Some places will have it available to purchase online, I’m sure. Maybe a search will show you something.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.