A Movie You Want To See ~ Unsung Hero

Movies are not typically my thing to share because I am so picky about them. So you know that when I do share about one, I think it is a good one. Celebrate the priceless role of Mom in your family by going to see the powerful film, Unsung Hero, in theaters starting April 26th!

I had the privilege to preview Unsung Hero and I enjoyed it a lot. The summary is as follows:

When David Smallbone’s successful music company collapses, he moves his family from Australia to the United States in search of a brighter future. With nothing more than their six children, their suitcases, and their love of music, David (for KING + COUNTRY’s Joel Smallbone) and his pregnant wife Helen (Daisy Betts) set out to rebuild their lives from the ground up. Based on a remarkable true story, a mum’s faith stands against all odds; and inspires her husband and children to hold onto theirs.

Watching this movie made me so appreciative of all I have. The Smallbone family struggled. Not just had some hard times; they had some times that define the word struggle. They left Australia to make a go of it in America, where a job was supposed to be waiting for them. When it wasn’t, they had no income and no prospects. Their passports didn’t allow for much at the beginning. But they had their faith, especially Helen.

Mom Helen had faith and a fierce fighting spirit and that brought the family through it all. My favorite scene was when they set the small jar of their final few dollars on the floor in front of the whole family and said this is all we have. We rely on God for everything that comes our way. Let’s get to praying. They made a prayer wall and wrote their prayer requests on a piece of paper, taping it up for them all to see. These included everything from food to a washing machine. It even included the word “cheaper” at one point because one of the youngest of the family wanted things to be cheaper for them to buy. There was also a place to move their answered prayers. As the days went by, they moved requests to answered one by one as God answered their prayers in His own way. The word cheaper even got moved!

I cannot stress enough how much I loved this story and enjoyed the movie. Running about an hour and a half, it was definitely a family movie worth seeing. Look for it. Buy tickets and take your family. You won’t regret the evening spent together seeing the story of God’s providence, guidance, and ability to work in all situations.

Giveaway: $10 Amazon giftcard, available to US winners only. Comment below on the movie, For King + Country, or Rebecca St. James. (Did you know she was the older sister of the Smallbone family?) I will randomly choose one winner on April 30. Winner must reply to the email within 24 hours to ensure I have the correct email address to have the giftcard sent to.

Disclosure:
Many thanks to Kingdom Faith Marketing Services, LLC for providing a sample of the
product for this review. Opinions are 100% my own.

At Home,
Lori

Tagged: , ,

10 thoughts on “A Movie You Want To See ~ Unsung Hero

  1. Ellen Wike April 24, 2024 at 10:16 am Reply

    Hi Lori, thanks for the review. This looks like a great movie!

  2. paminvirginia55 April 24, 2024 at 11:16 am Reply

    My husb and I plan to see it on Friday.The previews look great.Everyone should try to see this movie.Thanks for your review.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome April 25, 2024 at 9:28 am Reply

      I am glad you plan to see it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

  3. Yvonne April 24, 2024 at 12:04 pm Reply

    I really do want to go see this movie. And wait!! Rebecca St. James was the older sister???? I had no idea!! I saw her in concert once, she was great! This movie sounds so inspiring!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome April 25, 2024 at 9:28 am Reply

      I did not know that, either! This is an exceptional movie. I just know you would enjoy it.

  4. Vitaliy U. April 24, 2024 at 12:49 pm Reply

    My wife listened to Rebecca St James a lot growing up – so cool to see her origin story.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome April 25, 2024 at 9:27 am Reply

      I thought the same thing. I had known about her but had not connected her to For King + Country.

  5. Breanne April 26, 2024 at 1:32 pm Reply

    Thanks for your review! I has definitely made me interested in checking out this movie.

  6. hgtempaddy April 27, 2024 at 2:56 pm Reply

    I am not familiar with the movie For King + Country, or Rebecca St. James but I will check them out. I want to see this movie Unsung Hero because it is faith based.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.