Texas Bucket List – H ~ Blogging Through the Alphabet

H

The letter H was a fun one to go looking for and what did I find?

Hot Air Balloons!

I love hot air balloons  (check out the unit study we did). They remind me of my childhood. I grew up in NM and the International Balloon Fiesta happened every year in Albuquerque. But even better was the fact that we could see them just about every weekend we visited my grandparents in Albuquerque, rising slow and gently over the city, while we drove to Sunday morning church services. They always seemed so close that you could just reach out and touch them. Of course, they weren’t. The balloons stood out so pretty against the blue skies of northern NM. It is a treasured memory from my childhood.

Hot Air Balloons

These images are from a 2015 visit the International Balloon Fiesta in Albuquerque, NM.

So, when I found that Texas had a hot air balloon festival, I just knew it had to go on my bucket list. The Best of Texas Hot Air Balloon Festival happens in Austin in the springtime. This year has already passed but maybe next spring? They do the balloon ascension in the morning and a balloon glow at sunset. They offer rides and have lots of vendors and such. Really, I don’t care one bit about the vendors and food trucks and those sorts of thing. But the balloons? Those I would like to see.

So H = Hot Air Balloons for the Texas Bucket List this week.

Blessings,
At Home.

Previous Letters in the series:
A – Abilene’s Storybook Sculpture Project 
B – Big Bend
C – Congress Avenue Bridge and the Bat Colony
D – Dr Pepper Museum
E – Enchanted Rock
F – Flowers
G – Gulf Coast

 

abcblogging2-425x408

This is a weekly series and will be linked weekly with the Blogging Through The Alphabet co-hosts:
Amanda at Hopkins Homeschool
Kirsten at Doodle Mom
Jennifer at Worth a Bowed Head
Kimberley at Vintage Blue Suitcase
Desiree at Our Homeschool Notebook
Markie at My Life As Mrs. Cooks
Hilary at Walking Fruitfully

Tagged:

8 thoughts on “Texas Bucket List – H ~ Blogging Through the Alphabet

  1. Annette V July 2, 2018 at 3:44 pm Reply

    Going to balloon festivals is a lot of fun. Sometimes they will let you get up close to the balloons too! But seeing them all up in the air… WOW!

  2. […] Previous Letters in the series: A – Abilene’s Storybook Sculpture Project  B – Big Bend C – Congress Avenue Bridge and the Bat Colony D – Dr Pepper Museum E – Enchanted Rock F – Flowers G – Gulf Coast H – Hot Air Balloons […]

  3. […] Bat Colony D – Dr Pepper Museum E – Enchanted Rock F – Flowers G – Gulf Coast H – Hot Air Balloons I – Independence, […]

  4. […] – Dr Pepper Museum E – Enchanted Rock F – Flowers G – Gulf Coast H – Hot Air Balloons I – Independence J – Japanese Tea Garden K – Kell House and Kemp Center for the […]

  5. Desiree W. June 4, 2021 at 10:09 am Reply

    Well, this sent me on a search to see if our local balloon festival is happening this year. Unfortunately, it’s not. Bummer. We see a lot of balloons in the early mornings around here. It’s always a fun sight.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome June 4, 2021 at 3:45 pm Reply

      I do enjoy hot air balloons. It is a happy memory from my childhood and time with my grandparents. What a sad thing that your local balloon festival is not happening this year.

  6. […] Home: Where Life HappensNew Mexico Bucket List – H. from Lori at At Home: Where Life HappensTexas Bucket List – H. from Lori at At Home: Where Life HappensFavorite H Titled Books from Lori at At Home: Where Life […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.