Art Tree

We have been doing a unit on The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein. I have created the unit and will share that with you after we have finished and I have refined a couple of ideas that I wrote down. We have had a lot of fun and learning.

The Giving Tree

One of our projects was an art tree. We have talked about the seasons – winter, spring, summer, and fall/autumn. In The Giving Tree, the tree is an apple tree so we discussed what each season of an apple tree would resemble. Then, each of the girls and myself took a season and created a piece of an apple tree for that season. When we were all completed, we had a complete tree that depicted all four seasons.

Art Tree

Our canvases were approximately 5″x7″. We got them at Michael’s with a coupon and teacher’s discount. (See my post on teacher discounts for more places where you can get a discount.) I think it was about $6 for them. They were already primed and we had acrylic paints at home. We painted them in layers, letting each layer dry completely in between. We then finished them with Mod Podge to protect them and make them easier to clean off from the dust that will undoubtedly gather over time.

I wish I could take credit for this idea but I can’t. I don’t know who came up with it but I had seen it a while back on Pinterest and knew it would be perfect for something. This was that thing. It fit our study perfect. The girls have loved having them up. It has been about 24 hours since they went up and I have heard a bundle of comments. This was a success!

At Home.

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Art Tree

  1. The Giving Tree – book unit | At Home November 7, 2015 at 2:01 pm Reply

    […] Make a canvas set that shows the various seasons of the year and how they impact a tree. See our project here. […]

Leave a Reply

