God’s Law ~ law(s)

God's Law LAW part one

Define law. When I looked it up at Dictionary.com, here is the number one definition for the noun law:

the principles and regulations established in a community by some authority and
applicable to its people, whether in the form of legislation or of custom and policies
recognized and enforced by judicial decision.

Reread that.

  • Principles and regulations – ideas, plans, thoughts, ways to be, thing to do or not do, guiding ideals and actions, customs and policies
  • established – not random but planned, thought out, and placed
  • in a community – a group of people, no definition of big or small, but a group that has something in common uniting them
  • authority – one who has a reason and ability to be over the community, in charge of them, guiding them, responsibility
  • applicable to its people – this is referring back to the principles and regulations being something that is needed by the community

The rest of the definition goes into some fine details of how we currently see law but really think on those first few words and phrases.

Do you see the Bible that God gave us this way?

In Psalm 119, we see that the writer saw it this way. There are 44 verses that refer to God’s LAW. That is in this single chapter of the Bible. God’s LAW is there to help us, to provide us those principles and regulations that were put in place to help our community, God’s church, act in ways that are in keeping with the one who is in authority over us, God. And when we act in accordance with God’s LAW, we are blessed (verse 1).

The LAW is described throughout Psalm 119 in various ways that help us to see how important it is. In verse 7, it is described as righteous. In verse 39, the laws of God are good. Again in verse 62 we see the law to be righteous. “I know, O Lord, that your laws are righteous” – again righteous is used in verses 75, quoted here, and verse 106.

The LAW is long-standing. From verse 52 the law is described as ancient and they are comforting. “I remember your ancient laws, O Lord, and I find comfort in them.” Verse 91 tells us that “Your laws endure to this day, for all things serve you” showing us that God indeed is the being in control of these laws. In verse 160, we see the extent of the reign of the LAW – “All your words are true; all your righteous laws are eternal.” What powerful LAWS to stand and be worth obedience through time.

From the ancient days through eternity, God’s LAW will stand. And we can get so much from it. (emphasis is mine)

Verse 18 – “Open my eyes that I may see wonderful things in your law.”
Verse 29 – “Keep me from deceitful ways; be gracious to me through your law.”
Verse 43 – “Do not snatch the word of truth from my mouth, for I have put my hope in your laws.”
Verse 77 – “Let your compassion come to me that I may live, for your law is my delight.”
Verse 92 – “If your law had not been my delight, I would have perished in my affliction.”
Verse 102 – “I have not departed from your laws, for you yourself have taught me.”
Verse 149 – “Hear my voice in accordance with your love; preserve my life, O Lord, according to your laws.”
Verse 156 – “Your compassion is great, O Lord; preserve my life according to your laws.”
Verse 165 – “Great peace have they who love your law, and nothing can make them stumble.”
Verse 174 – “I long for your salvation, O Lord, and your law is my delight.”
Verse 175 – “Let me live that I may praise you and may your laws sustain me.”

Our culture kind of frowns on laws and seems to think that they are overburdening. But looks that list of benefits from follow the LAW God has set before us. Seeing wonderful things. Keeping me safe. Giving me compassion and preservation of life. Something to sustain me. Great peace! Not allowing anything to make me stumble.

And

Salvation!

Is there anything better?

I am going to call this part 1 of the word LAW because there are two more big sections that the word LAW groups into. Next week, we will look at those who disdain the LAW and how the psalmist loves the LAW. Opposites.

Blessings to you all as you ponder God’s LAW and what it can do for you.

At Home.

 

 

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “God’s Law ~ law(s)

  1. Annette V November 19, 2017 at 2:27 pm Reply

    this was an excellent post. Going to add it to my devotionals board. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.