Waffles – wheat free recipe

waffles wheat free recipe

Not long ago, Miss J bought her own little waffle maker. She used some birthday money and has been happily making waffles since then. She can use it on her own and she is very pleased with her purchase.

One morning, she wanted me to eat waffles with her. So, I looked up a couple of waffle recipes and realized I needed to modify to make my own. Most wheat free recipes call for a prepackaged, gluten-free baking mix. Lots of the baking mixes still contain corn so they are not for me.

I have, however, come up with a pretty consistent replacement for the baking mixes and so I just modified that a bit, modified the recipe a bit, and made some super yummy, VERY filling waffles. I got to eat waffles with the girls! YUM!

waffles wheat free

Wheat Free Waffles

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 C almond flour
  • 2 T coconut flour
  • 2 T flaxseed meal/ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 t xantham gum
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1-2 t sugar, to taste
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 C milk
  • 1 t olive oil or coconut oil (melted)

Directions:

  • Mix the dry ingredients together.
  • Mix the wet ingredients together.
  • Add the dry mixture to the wet and combine well.
  • Cook in a waffle maker. This should make one large waffle or three mini-waffles.
  • Top as desired.

Enjoy breakfast treats with the family while sticking to the healthy diet you need! These are so good, you feel like you are indulging yourself. At least, I did. 🙂 If you make these waffles, I would love to know how they turn out for you. I am constantly tweaking recipes so feedback is helpful.

Blessings,
At Home.

Linking up with A Net In Time and the weekly recipe link-up happening there.

Linking up with the Homeschool Review Crew and the weekly link-up.

 

Tagged: ,

3 thoughts on “Waffles – wheat free recipe

  1. Annette V March 15, 2018 at 10:07 pm Reply

    Yay! You could have waffles with the girls! WOOT WOOT! we like our waffle maker too. 🙂

    • 3gigglygirlsathome March 16, 2018 at 9:05 am Reply

      We had gotten rid of ours years ago because it was not a good one. This one is small but I think it will be good.

  2. […] pancakes or waffles with pure maple syrup (I do a wheat-free, corn-free version for myself and my […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.