Thank You, Lord ~ hymn

Simply put, it is always time for giving thanks. Fall seems to be a time when many people intentionally turn to thankfulness but I challenge you to be thankful in all things, at all times. James calls it “joy” (James 1:2) when he is talking about facing trials and temptations. But keep reading and he tells us in verse 17 that “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” Focus there.

Philippians 4 reminds us how to focus on thanksgiving and it begins with our thinking: v 8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. 

If you are finding the joy and excellent things to consider and focus on, then giving thanks for those things naturally follows. So, find a verse or song to sing daily that will help your focus. This one is mine. It is a favorite of Miss J and it sits in my head, bringing joy and clarity and thanksgiving.

Do you have a favorite song of thanks? A Net In Time shared this one yesterday and it is another that can sit in my head for days at a time and bring thanksgiving to my heart. I’d love to hear others. Please do share.

Blessings,
Lori, At Home.

Thank You, Lord

Thank you, Lord, for loving me.
And thank you, Lord, for blessing me.
Thank you, Lord, for making me whole
And saving my soul. Refrain.

Refrain:
Thank you, Lord, for loving me.
Thank you, Lord, for saving my soul.

Let us all with one accord
Sing praises to Christ our Lord.
Let us all unite in song
To praise Him all day long. Refrain.

Please reveal your will for me
So I can serve you for eternity.
Use my life in every way.
Take hold of it today. Refrain.

Tagged:

12 thoughts on “Thank You, Lord ~ hymn

  1. Yvonne October 12, 2020 at 10:37 pm Reply

    The first song that came to my mind while reading your post was There is a Redeemer. I loved singing this worship song at church.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome October 13, 2020 at 11:53 am Reply

      I agree. Both are lovely and can direct our minds to think on the right sorts of things.

  2. Annette Vellenga (@athomepets) October 12, 2020 at 11:13 pm Reply

    this one is new to me, and it’s a nice one! Always good to meet new songs. Thanks for the link over. 🙂

    • 3gigglygirlsathome October 13, 2020 at 11:54 am Reply

      🙂 This is one I have known since childhood so it is an oldie-but-goodie for me. Glad to introduce you.

  3. dawnpeluso October 13, 2020 at 9:33 am Reply

    Beautiful Hymn! Songs can be so helpful in keeping me focused on God and his blessings.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome October 13, 2020 at 11:54 am Reply

      I agree. I rely on songs a lot and they are what often come to mind when I start thinking on blessings.

  4. Gary Mabry October 13, 2020 at 6:55 pm Reply

    I love this hymn! I wrote it in the early 1970s on my way to St. Louis, taking Robert Reed there to work with Stanley Shipp in a campus ministry. Robert never let his cerebral palsy slow him down. He was an inspiration to me, inspiring this text of deep thanksgiving.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome October 13, 2020 at 9:39 pm Reply

      Thank you for sharing that! I have loved this for many years and treasure the fact that my daughter loves it, too.

  5. Gary Mabry October 13, 2020 at 7:59 pm Reply

    There’s a great story behind this hymn.

  6. Teresa October 14, 2020 at 12:01 pm Reply

    What wonderful encouragement and a beautiful song!

  7. […] Thank You Lord by Lori H @ At Home: Where Life Happens […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.