I Triumphed

Do you ever look at something and see “Triumph!” written all over it? I don’t mean literally, but in whatever it is you are viewing, you see that you overcame something? You triumphed? That is what this pile of clean dishes is to me. A small moment of triumph.

We were out running errands for a big part of the day and only headed home at dinner time, knowing it was going to be a time crunch to make dinner and get to church. I was so tempted to grab some fast food for the girls. It would be “easy” and I was tired so it made sense, right? I talked myself into and out of stopping several times on the drive.

I fought that temptation and drove home. There, I grabbed the frozen ground turkey that was already cooked, some crushed tomatoes, some frozen beans, and spices. And I made chili. And I had it ready in just a bit longer than we would have been sitting in the drive thru for that fast food. Yes, I still had to clean up dishes, but my girls and I ate a healthy, yummy meal that was better for us in all aspects than grabbing that fried chicken or burger. My girls all enjoyed it, complimented, and I got to spend time with Miss J in the kitchen making it because she came and helped me. She learned more about making and spicing chili.

And the follow up win? I had dinner for tonight, only needing to make rice. I put the rice and some chili in tortillas to make burritos to send with the older two girls to eat during the break in dance classes. My girl at home with me will put hers in the air fryer. (She loves air frying burritos!)

What helped me with this triumph were several things –
1) We determined long ago that we would not eat out all that often. We could allocate our money that way but we have made a conscious decision to not do it very much.
2) We are determined to help our girls eat as healthy as possible. Yes, one meal out is not that big a deal but choosing to eat at home, with a home cooked meal, is just another step in that process.
3) We want to set good examples in all things for our daughters. Last night, good stewardship of the things God has given us looked like choosing to drive on home and cook the meal, as simple as it was, and clean up the dishes. It also shows the girls service, even when tired and grumpy.
4) We also had plenty of time at home in which to relax and get ready for mid-week worship instead of rushing straight there from a restaurant or having a fast turn around at home after taking the food home to eat. Being ready and focused for worship is important.

So when you are feeling down, look around you. What can you see that you have accomplished? Did you read to that child or snuggle? Did you read your Bible or pray? Did you serve your family by doing some cleaning or cooking or yardwork that needed done? Make that your picture of triumph for today. And thank God.

Blessings,
Lori, At Home.

Visit the Homeschool Review Crew Round Up for more great posts to read.

Tagged: , ,

7 thoughts on “I Triumphed

  1. […] I Triumphed – A sink full of clean dishes inspires a feeling of triumph and reminds me about all I accomplished by cooking that meal. […]

  2. finchnwren March 26, 2021 at 9:49 am Reply

    What a lovely post, thought, and reminder. It’s such a breath of fresh air! You make me smile, my friend. πŸ˜ŠπŸ’ž

  3. Annette Vellenga (@athomepets) March 26, 2021 at 2:37 pm Reply

    I really enjoyed this read, I think I said so on facebook, but saying it again in case I am misremembering. πŸ™‚

  4. Yvonne March 31, 2021 at 4:16 pm Reply

    Yes, we have to look at those accomplishments, no matter if they seem small to others. Sometimes I can forget this, so thank you for that reminder.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome April 1, 2021 at 5:36 pm Reply

      You’re welcome. I often am writing to myself on stuff like this. I have to remember, also.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.