Christmas Wreath – No Shopping Necessary

Christmas Wreath 2

Today’s Make It Work Monday post is an extra and is one the kiddos can help with. We have been unwrapping a Christmas book each night and reading it. The next day we do an activity or craft that goes along with the book in some way. One of the books we read was The Christmas Unicorn. In the book, the little girl, Milly, gives her Christmas unicorn a wreath.Christmas wreath bookThat was our project to go along with the book – we made a wreath for Christmas, working together. It is not a fancy wreath and while I really like the looks of all those fancy wreaths I see on Pinterest, I just don’t see a reason to spend that kind of money. Even doing it myself would cost $30 or more for the materials. I like my shabby chic style wreaths. Especially when they cost $0. Zippo. Zilch. Nothing. I don’t have to shop. I don’t need specific materials. I use what we have on hand.

We began by looking around to see what we had. An old set of fairy wings that were coming apart. Lots of scraps of fabrics. Some ribbon left over from who-knows-what. Bingo – the makings of a wreath, no shopping necessary.

christmas wreath wings

We cut the fabric off of one-fourth of the wings. Each quarter of the wings is a separate piece of wire. Once we cut it away, one of the girls rounded it out.

christmas wreath form

Using my rotary cutter and a quilting square (both of which are totally optional but make the process go SO much faster), I cut strips of fabric that were approximately 1″x6″. I say approximately because it doesn’t matter if they are perfectly rectangular or not. They just need to tie.

Once I had about 20 strips, the girls sat down on the floor together to tie the strips to the ring. The process was made less tedious and repetitive by turning on A Charlie Brown Christmas to watch. Tying and watching, they filled up the ring with strips of fabric. I have no idea how many strips we cut and tied – probably around 350 or so. That is totally a guess, though. The more strips you tie on, the fuller the wreath will look.

Christmas Wreath

We rummaged through the ribbon drawer to find some pretty Christmas-y ribbon and tied a big bow at the top. All done. A simple, cheap, and pleasant Christmas wreath that the girls had a hand in and are proud of. Done as a family, everything is more fun. At Home.Make It Work Monday Title

Tagged: , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Christmas Wreath – No Shopping Necessary

  1. Kym Thorpe December 11, 2014 at 1:48 pm Reply

    We made a very similar wreath for our Christmas craft breakfast!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome December 11, 2014 at 10:25 pm Reply

      I love these. They are fun and simple. Plus, cheap or free never hurt. I’d love to see a picture sometime.

  2. Annette Tinholt Vellenga November 13, 2016 at 5:34 pm Reply

    that is quite pretty! I like it! Visiting via the crew round up.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome November 13, 2016 at 6:36 pm Reply

      Fun to do, as well. Family fun while watching a Christmas movie or something.

  3. […] Christmas Wreath – No Shopping Necessary […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.