Book Club – Welcome!

Book club:Ladybug Daydrams and At Home where life happens

Good morning! Welcome to the announcement post for the Book Club. I know that is a super exciting name but I am all for sweet and simple!

I am joining forces with Wendy from Ladybug Daydreams to host an online book club. We are extending an invitation to everyone to join us. We plan to read a book, taking up to a month to do so. Then, we are going to post answers to discussion questions here on our blogs on the first Monday of the month.

I am planning to announce the book for the month at the end of the discussion question posts so that you can get reading. I will also post a link to the discussion questions, though personally, I am not going to really look at those until I finish reading the book. I don’t want to risk a spoiler question!

Wendy and I will alternate book choices and since Wendy already had a couple she wanted to read, she chose these first two. I’ll admit: they aren’t ones I would normally be drawn to but it is good to stretch my reading choices sometimes so I am looking forward to this!

I also want to give credit where credit is due. This originated as Wendy’s idea. She has actually already done one Book Club reading with questions and such. You can see her first book club selection, At The Water’s Edge, over on her blog. She answered questions in two parts so go looking for part 1 and part 2 to see her discussion questions.

Whether or not you blog, you are invited to join us. If you don’t blog, you can answer the questions in whatever form you would like. We would love to see you comment that you are reading along with us. If you blog, feel free to answer the questions as well. If you publish a post, we are hoping to have link-up available for the first book selection post on the first Monday of April.

The Announcement!

Our first book will be:

Pretty Baby
by Mary Kubica

The book jacket summary:

She sees the teenage girl on the train platform, standing in the pouring rain, clutching an infant in her arms. She boards a train and is whisked away. But she can’t get the girl out of her head…
Heidi Wood has always been a charitable woman: she works for a nonprofit, takes in stray cats. Still, her husband and daughter are horrified when Heidi returns home one day with a young woman named Willow and her four-month-old baby in tow.
Disheveled and apparently homeless, this girl could be a criminal – or worse. But despite her family’s objections, Heidi invites Willow and the baby to take refuge in their home.
Heidi spends the next few days helping Willow get back on her feet, but as clues into Willow’s past begin to surface, Heidi is forced to decide how far she’s willing to go to help a stranger. What starts as an act of kindness quickly spirals into a story far more twisted than anyone could have anticipated.

I was able to get this fairly easily from the library and so far, it has not been a difficult read. And though it is not a normal book for me to pick up, it has caught my attention. So, please join us, online or off.

Questions are found here.

At Home.

 

One thought on “Book Club – Welcome!

  1. Wendy @ Ladybug Daydreams March 9, 2016 at 9:12 am Reply

    I’m super excited that you asked to join me, Lori. This should be a fun adventure 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.