Gotta Have the Right Stuff (school supplies) ~ Back to Homeschool Blog Hop 2017

Gotta Have The Right Stuff

I could so easily spend a fortune on school supplies. I love the feel of a new crayon. Pencils and pens. Notecards. Paper. Notebooks. It just has an appeal to me, maybe because it represents the possibility of the education and learning. It represents potential. And that is so hopeful!

We have greatly benefited over the years from the generosity of others. We have plenty of colored pencils and dry erase markers. We have notecards and sticky notes. I have found wonderful sales in years past where we got notebook paper for a penny, so I stocked up. But, there are a few things that we buy new each year, to encourage the girls and to share that potential with them that pointy crayons and new markers and click pencils embody.

You probably caught a couple of them there – crayons, markers, and click pencils. I also bought them colored pencils and colored pens this year. I found these all for between 50 cents and a dollar a pack. Made me not feel bad about buying for each of the girls. I also found them personal pencil sharpeners (for those colored pencils). While I was poking around the sale that I found, I saw 3 prong/2 pocket folders for 10 cents each so I bought three of each color they had. I also bought composition notebooks in fun colors (50 cents each) and spirals in their signature colors (25 cents each). My big purchase was graph paper for the child who is working in pre-algebra and that was about $3. (Of course, our local dollar store now has it for $1.50 – oh well.)

All of this and I spent around $15 dollars on school supplies this year. I worked hard to talk myself out of some other neat things I saw. But, this begs the question of how do we store these things.

Places at the table

We do have a communal holder for a set of Sharpies, colored pencils, dry erase markers, and markers/highlighters. It also has our family scissors, a couple of magnifying glasses and odds/ends. I need to find another holder for it, though, because this one cracked a couple of weeks ago and I can’t just pick it up and move it to the table now. (The new one has not been high priority.)

Each girl also has a pencil box, though, that she keeps with her materials. She is responsible for having a pen, pencils, erasers, crayons, colored pencils, and a ruler. Each girl organizes her own box, deciding what else is desired in her storage area. One packs it full; another goes minimal. As long as they have what they need and can find it easily, I don’t care how it looks (though it does look nice when they put it up like the picture shows). We store their boxes and books under a buffet table/side table in the living room area.

where things go

As for the rest of our supplies – well we have art supplies hanging out in several places, a rolling cart for our paper supplies (scrap paper, lined notebook paper, construction paper, card stock, colored copy paper, colored lined paper – on the right in the picture above), a shelf above the washer for extras of everything we have extras of, and, well, hopefully I have remembered where everything is. 🙂

What is your favorite school supply? Mine? probably colored paper! Which I didn’t have to buy this year because back in May when Office Max was going out of business (boo – I still don’t like going to that other place!), I was able to buy a huge pack of colored copy paper for incredibly cheap. Happy dance!

At Home.

Back to Homeschool Annual Blog Hop - 2017

Be sure to visit the others who are sharing about school supplies today for the Homeschool Review Crew Back to Homeschool Blog Hop 2017. Here are some of my friends to get you started reading about School Supplies.

Diana – Homeschool Review

Elyse – Oiralinde: Eternal Song

Felicia – Homeschool 4 Life

Hillary – Walking Fruitfully

Jacqui  – Homestead Bounty Blessings

Jacquelin – A Stable Beginning

Jenn – Treasuring Life’s Blessings

Tagged: ,

9 thoughts on “Gotta Have the Right Stuff (school supplies) ~ Back to Homeschool Blog Hop 2017

  1. Lisa M @ Farm Fresh August 15, 2017 at 9:33 am Reply

    Your stuff looks a lot like my stuff! LOL I have to keep away from the writing utensils or I go crazy! LOL

  2. Kelly Kiggins-Lund (@GodsWriterGirl) August 15, 2017 at 5:55 pm Reply

    Bins and boxes are some of my favorite hiding spots for school supplies. Not only does it keep things tidy but it also keeps my son and I organized. Great idea to include it in your list of supplies, Lori!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome August 15, 2017 at 9:56 pm Reply

      And there are some pretty boxes out there. Pretty and organized? Maybe I could do that.

  3. apronstringsotherthings August 15, 2017 at 10:57 pm Reply

    You’ve picked up some great bargains! My favorite school supply? oh, that’s hard. One of the most used items is spiral notebooks. We use them for many subjects, journals, lapbooks, etc.

  4. Annette V August 16, 2017 at 12:29 pm Reply

    I think i need to put a pencil case where my lad stores his “I’m finished everything for the day” stash. It would keep his lapbook stuff very accessible..

  5. […] Tuesday – School Supplies (Best products for the job, Must have stationary, I can’t homeschool without … ) (Post – Gotta Have The Right Stuff) […]

Leave a Reply

